Nu Guinea – The Tony Allen Experiments [EAS010] [COMET072]

Comet is pleased to announce the third volume of the Afrobeat Makers Series: Nu Guinea – The Tony Allen Experiments. By re-working the original magic drum patterns from the Afrobeat master Tony Allen, Nu Guinea created a compilation of tracks which is charged by a voluminous electronic jazz-Psyche funk imprint. For this release, Comet Records teamed up with Early Sounds Recordings, the berlin label, also home to duo Berliners Nu Guinea. The Naples formed, Berlin-based duo, is a project that arose out of jam sessions, melting synthesizers with instruments, containing a handmade sound that is not aiming for perfection but genuineness. It can be understood as a steadily shaping form, always open for collaborations with other musicians. They’ve previously collaborated with singer Wayne Snow (fellow berliner artist on Comet) for the vocal edit of Nu-World, also delivered a remix for Wayne Snow’ “Rosie Ep” both recently released on Tartelet Records!

A1 Prelude
A2 Howls
A3 Open Paths
A4 NG Theme
A5 Statis (Calm Before The Storm)
B1 TA-Storm
B2 The Birds Rejoice
B3 Phunkhysteria
B4 The Sun Returns


All tracks written and produced in 2015 by Nu Guinea at Nu Guinea Tower Studios.
Original drums by Tony Allen, reconstructed by Massimo Di Lena.
Electric piano / synthesizers performed by Lucio Aquilina.
Bongos, congas and other percussions: Adam Paweł Dziewiałtowski­ Gintowt.

Synthesizers: Yamaha Dx 100, Roland Jupiter 6, Estradin 230­A, Kawai Sx­240, Yamaha Sy 99, Korg M3..
Electric Piano: Fender Rhodes Mk I.
Electronic Drums: Linndrum Lm1, Rokton UDS, Roland 606.

Additional Vocals: Malu Aliqun
Additional FX: Mr. Venec

Mastered by Cem Oral, Jammin Mastering, Berlin.
Artwork: Guglielmo Corduas.