Moscoman – A Shot In The Light Lp [ESP033]

Moscoman arrived at the ESP Institute last year with a fistful of killer tracks and an imitable recipe for hummous, since then we’ve seen his debut with the dancefloor bomb ‘Akachi’ and a collaborative follow-up release with long-time cohorts Red Axes. We’re now excited to enter a new chapter with Moscoman’s debut full-length album ‘A Shot In The Light’. This creative outpouring spans years of musical trials and tribulations, finally coming full circle to tell the story of an artist leaving his home in Tel Aviv to pursue his passions in the electronic mecca of Berlin and beyond. Moscoman’s unique approach evolves and devolves over the course of eight songs, enduring highs and lows yet never resting for too long in one place—thus illustrating his personal metamorphosis as well as his acute skill of giving many voices to one wild imagination. This music is deliberate, almost cheeky with a youthful sense of optimism running throughout, and even in its most aggressive moment there is always an element of hope.

Benedikt Frey – Out Of Here (Remixes) [HVN036]

Benedikt Frey’s arresting Out Of Here was the second entry of Hivern Blanc series. Originally a vinyl-only limited release, now the track gets a fresh new treatment in the hands of two mainstays of European techno: Roman Flügel and Simon Haydo.

Flügel’s Cosmic Disco Drama Rework lives up to its name, maintaining the noir disco spirit of the original track but infusing it with tension-building sequences and strings that give it an extra mischievous twist. Our favorite frankfurter also straightens the rhythmic skeleton and adds shuffling shakers to make it a relentless dancefloor weapon. Haydo’s remix delves into a more dismal terrain, transforming the vocals into haunted echoes, adding esoteric synths and topping it all with razor-sharp percussion in what sounds like a storm of ice asteroids falling into a lake of steel.
The 12” comes in a beautiful sleeve featuring an exclusive illustration by Barcelona-based artist Pau López and design by Arnau Pi.

Various Artists – Secret Weapons Part 8 [IV67]

Innervisions has announced details of its next compilation, Secret Weapons Part 8.
The Secret Weapons series has been running since 2007 as a platform for Innervisions founders Dixon and Âme to release tracks they’ve been playing out. Part 8 arrives a little over a year since the release of Part 7, and comprises 13 tunes from associates new and old. Longtime affiliate Culoe De Song supplies one cut, as do first-timers like Mosca, Alex.Do, Quarion and Rampa. Prins Thomas, who also appears to be debuting on the label, delivers a remix.

Full tracklist following:

A1 Yotam Avni – Tikkun
A2 Ingrid Lukas – We Are (Manuel Tur Remix 3)
B1 Rampa – Necessity
C1 Fred und Luna – Im Klanggarten (Prins Thomas Remix)
C2 Mosca – In This Life Or The Next
D1 Alex.Do – Drenched
E1 Eagles & Butterflies – X
E2 Davis Feat. Cameo Culture – Blind
F1 Denis Horvat – Momak
G1 Quarion – Monolith
G2 Dino Lenny – A Certain Distance (Dixon Retouch)
H1 Culoe De Song – Judgement Day
H2 Francesco Chiocci – Nightmares

“It started with the idea and a few tracks and it ended with this megalomaniac looking package.
One of the finest compilations we put together ever, touching every corner of today’s clubmusic we love!”
Kristian (Âme).

The package arrives on September 23rd.

Lee Burridge & Lost Desert Feat. Junior – Lingala [ADID013]

For over five years, All Day I Dream has been where deep and emotive meet House music. Propelled by a community of forward thinking artists drawn around the scion of master curator and sunset/sunrise set specialist, Lee Burridge.
All Day I Dream formally welcomes Lost Desert to the label with the release of Lingala, a two-track collaborative effort with Burridge himself, that also features Junior on vocals. Lost Desert was picked out of obscurity after Burridge discovered his music while trekking in a remote area of a long lost land. A fast forged friendship inevitably lead to the studio, and Lingala’s the enrapturing sophomore result. The duo’s first project together debuted on Lee’s night time imprint, Get Weird, earlier this year to widespread support.
Lingala, is a beautifully composed ten-minute sonic journey. Built around a mystical lead vocal sung by newcomer Junior in his native Linagles the raw emotion slowly builds in intensity over propulsive basslines and deep melodic grooves . Gorje Hewek & Izhevski’s interpretation of Lingala is a markedly different affair. Focussing on musical layers rather than the vocal the duo’s signature spacey atmospheres and minimal rhythmic percussion add extra strings creating uplifting moments that contrast the original’s mood.